Current News and Upcoming Events

Siemens Finalists, Semifinalists

Six Blair Magnet students were named as semifinalists in the 2014-15 Siemens Competition in Math, Science, and Technology in October. Qingning Fan, Sangho Myung, Eric Neyman, Arjuna Subramanian, Brenda Wu, and Matthew Yu. Matthew was further named a Regional Finalist, and will be competing at the regional competition at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in mid-November.

Applicant Meeting Powerpoint

The Powerpoint from the Informational Meeting for 8th grade applicants is now available.

Ninth Grade Magnet Parent Meeting

The Magnet Foundation is sponsoring this year's Ninth Grade Magnet Parent Meeting on October 29th at 7:00 PM in the Auditorium.

MacArthur Fellow

Congratulations for Blair Magnet alum Jacob Lurie ('96), who was just named as one of the 2014 MacArthur Fellows. MacArthur Fellowships, sometimes known as "Genius Grants," are given each year to US citizens or residents who "show exceptional merit and promise for continued and enhanced creative work." Lurie won the Westinghouse (now Intel) Science Talent Search when he was at Blair on surreal numbers, and is currently a professor at Harvard.

Information for 8th Grade Applications

Information about applying to the Blair Magnet is available on this site, and more information will be available at the October 13th Informational Meeting at Blair at 7:00 PM in the Auditorium. Application forms for the Magnet have been posted.

National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists

Two Magnet students, Meriel Capriogolio-Chase and Braeden Rose, were named National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists.

National Merit Semifinalists

Congratulations to Blair's thirty-two National Merit Semifinalists! This year's semifinalists in clude Andrea L. Brown, Mari-Therese S. Burton, Adam R. Busis, Rosa Choe, Theodore J. Corrales, Matthew D. Das Sarma, Calvin L. Dong, Eli M. Hartman, Wesley S. Hopkins, Anna B. Keleher, Brianna M. Kitts, Jingce Lei, Ziyu Liu, Elisabeth A. Machielse, Samantha A. Menegas, Bendeguz Offertaler, Benjamin W. Safford, Harini E. Salgado, Aditi Subramaniam, Arjuna M. Subramanian, Sarah L. Wagner, Kara N. Watkins-Chow, Michael H. Winer, Brenda Wu, Jingjing Xu, Victor Z. Xu, Wen Qing Xu, Catherine S. Xue, Dennis Yang, Austin S. Yuan, Kevin A. Zhang, and Harrison W. Zheng.

Wallops Island Trip

Check out the recent article in the Gazette about the annual 10th grade trip to Wallops Island.

Physics Olympiad

Congratulations to Alexander Bourzutschky '14 and Michael Winer '15, who were named as members of the 2014 U.S. Physics Team. The pair traveled to Kazahstan where they won silver medals at the International Physics Olympiad.

Intel Science Talent Search $20,000 winner

Senior Shaun Datta placed 10th in this year's Intel Science Talent Search and earned a $20,000 scholarship! Joining were two other Blair Intel STS Finalists, Neil Davey and Jessica Shi, who eached received a $7,500 scholarship. Blair has the most Intel Finalists of any high school in the country this year. Congratulations also to Blair's six other Intel Science Talent Search semifinalists: Alex Bourzutschky, Daniela Ganelin, Hannah He, Aanchal Johri, Huey Shih, and Gabby Studt. Each semifinalist won $1,000 for themselves and $1,000 for Blair.

2014 U.S. Physics Team Semifinalists

Thirteen Blair Magnet students were named as Semifinalists to the 2014 U.S. Physics Team. Daniel Amir, Alexander Bourzutschky, Adam Busis, Matthew Das Sarma, Alan Du, William Leete, Alex Miao, Bendeguz Offertaler, Andrew Simler, Michael Winer, Victor Xu, Matthew Yu, and Richard Zhu are among the 431 students nationwide who qualified, and who are eligible to become on of the twenty team members to be announced in April. After further testing at the end of May, five of these twenty students and an alternate will be named as members of the 2014 U.S. Physics Team traveling team, qualifying them to represent the U.S. at the 45th International Physics Olympiad to be held in Astana, Kazakhstan in July.

Maryland Science Bowl

Congratulations to Michael Winer, Victor Xu, Bendeguz Offertaler, Eric Lu, and Arnold Mong, who took first place in this year's Maryland Science Bowl, and to Alan Du, Catherine Xue, Matthew Das Sarma, Alexander Bourzutschky, and Avikar Periwal, who won third place. Blair's third team of Alex Miao, James Vinson, Pratik Rathore, David Miller, and Lara Shonkwiler–all ninth graders–also did well, only losing once, to another Blair team. Blair's winning team will be competing in the National Science Bowl in April.

Parent Meetings

The Powerpoints from the early 2014 parent meetings are now available:

Counseling info for ninth/tenth grade families
Wallops Island trip information for tenth grade families
Counseling info for eleventh grade families
Research project information for eleventh grade families

Fall 2013 University of Pennsylvania PClassic Champs

Congratulations to Megan Chao, Matthew Das Sarma, Kiyoon Ko, Vijay Upadhya, and Scott Wu whose team took home first this fall in the semi-annual University of Pennsylvania PClassic Java programming competition.

Siemens Competition Semifinalists

Congratulations to our four Siemens Competition Semifinalists: Megan C. Chao, Neil S. Davey, Robert T. Martin, and Jessica Shi!

National Semifinalists

This year, Blair had thirty-five National Merit Scholar Semifinalists, eight National Achievement Scholar Semifinalists, and four National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars. Congratulations to all our awardees!



Recognizing that education is an individual experience that depends on the unique talents and interests of each person, the mission of the Blair Magnet Program is to provide an environment in which each person's education is maximized by emphasizing the interrelationships among the disciplines, developing a repertoire of problem-solving techniques, and pursuing both independent and collaborative research projects

To realize the above mission, the staff nurtures the special talents of its academically able students by fostering individualism, independent thinking, and self-confidence by challenging those students through a unique, diversified curriculum. The environment, structure, and content promote the self-learner concept in which students participate in constructing their own knowledge base and learn problem-solving strategies that foster the multidisciplinary approach. The scope of their education extends beyond traditional classroom boundaries as students are asked to connect with a community that includes not only parents, mentors, other students, and staff but also a physical environment as diverse as our region.